



Ireland – Northern Ireland Protocol to the Brexit Withdrawal Agreement

Seminar 1

EU Governance of the Protocol (1pm to 2 pm)

25 November 2020

Chair: Professor Christopher McCrudden

School of Law, Queen's University Belfast

Speaker: Dr Thomas Liefländer

European Commission

Comment: Professor Daniel Halberstam

University of Michigan Law School

Professor Catherine Barnard

Faculty of Law, University of Cambridge

Seminar 2

UK/Northern Ireland Governance of the Protocol (1pm to 2pm)

26 November 2020

Chair: Professor Christopher McCrudden

School of Law, Queen's University Belfast

Speakers: Professor Stephen Weatherhill

Faculty of Law, University of Oxford

Professor Gordon Anthony

School of Law, Queen's University Belfast

Comment: Margaret Gray SC, QC

Law Library and Brick Court Chambers

Seminar 3 27 November 2020

Fundamental Rights in the Protocol (1pm to 2pm)

Chair: Stephen Brittain

Law Library and ICEL

Speaker: Professor Christopher McCrudden

School of Law, Queen's University Belfast

Comment: Dr Evelyn Collins, CBE

Chief Executive, Equality Commission of Northern Ireland

Les Allamby

Chief Commissioner, Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission

Dr John Temple Lang

ICEL and Trinity College Dublin

Seminar 4 30 November 2020

Citizenship and Free Movement in the Protocol (12 to 1pm) (Note the change of time for this seminar)

Chair: Professor Christopher McCrudden

School of Law, Queen's University Belfast

Speakers: Professor Imelda Maher

Dean of Law, Sutherland School of Law, University College Dublin

Professor Colin Harvey

School of Law, Queen's University Belfast

Comment: Professor Colin Murray

School of Law, Newcastle Law School

Professor Tobias Lock

Department of Law, Maynooth University

Seminar 5 1 December 2020

Goods, Customs, and the Single Market in the Protocol (1pm to 2pm)

Chair: Professor Christopher McCrudden

School of Law, Queen's University Belfast

Speakers: Ciarán Toland SC

ICEL and Law Library

Dr Anna Jerzewska

Trade and Borders

Comment: George Peretz QC

Monckton Chambers

Dr Mary Dobbs

Department of Law, Maynooth University

Seminar 6 2 December 2020

Round Table: The Next Year...and Beyond (1pm to 2pm)

Chair: Professor Christopher McCrudden

School of Law, Queen's University Belfast

Professor Katy Hayward

School of Social Sciences, Queen's University Belfast

Professor Federico Fabbrini

Dublin City University

Professor Dagmar Schiek

University College Cork

Tony Connolly

RTÉ

Rory Montgomery

Honorary Professor of Practice, Mitchell Institute, Queen's University Belfast