Minutes of the 35th Annual General Meeting of the Irish Centre for European Law 25 September 2023

Held by Zoom

The 35th Annual General Meeting of the Irish Centre for European Law was held at 4.30pm on 25 September 2023 in an online format.

Members Present: Dr Stephen Coutts

Declan Harmon BL Professor Aoife Nolan Dáire McCormack-George Professor Áine Ryall

Directors Attending: Advocate-General Anthony M Collins (President, chairing the meeting)

Ciaran Toland SC (Deputy President)

Dr Joanne Simpson (Secretary)

Dr Vincent Power SC

Brian Doherty

Prof. Christopher McCrudden FBA MRIA BL

Prof. Mark Bell FTCD

Invitees: Eoin Delap BL

Trevor Fitzpatrick CPA

1. To adopt the minutes of the 2022 AGM.

The Minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting were adopted.

2. To adopt the minutes of the 26 September 2022 EGM.

The Minutes of the 26 September 2022 Extraordinary General Meeting were adopted.

3. To appoint and/or re-appoint 3 directors, after hearing the Nomination Committee.

The directors due to retire by rotation and who were eligible for renewal were Dr Róisín Costello BL and Dr Stephen Coutts. Hilkka Becker was due to retire as a director in accordance with Article 76(b) of the Articles of Association and was eligible for renewal.

It should be noted that the committee that was responsible for making the recommendations reformulated during the course of the of the year 2022-2023 and is now known as the 'Nomination, Employment and Remuneration Committee' who undertook the review. It recommended that Dr

Róisín Costello BL, Hilkka Becker and Avril Power BL be elected to the board. It further recommended that Dr Stephen Coutts be appointed to the Advisory Council for the next three years.

Dr Róisín Costello BL, Hilkka Becker and Avril Power BL were elected to the Board.

Dr Stephen Coutts was elected to the Advisory Council for the next three years.

4. To reappoint a person as a member of the Audit Committee.

Liam Burke was due to retire by rotation and was eligible for reappointment.

Liam Burke was re-elected to the Audit Committee

5. To approve the Annual Report and Financial Statements for 2022.

The report was presented by Eoin Delap BL, CEO. It was noted that the end of 2022 was a transitional year, with the centre emerging from the Covid period and the associated public health restrictions, which was obviously a challenge to an events-based organisation. The second half of the period saw a return to something akin to the more ordinary operation of the centre. The Competition Law and Environmental Law Enforcement conferences both saw a successful return to in person events after the break in in-person events imposed by the public health restrictions.

The Annual Report and Financial Statements for 2022 were presented by Trevor Fitzpatrick, External Auditor. It was noted that the impact of Covid was reflected in the finances of the Centre and, in line with broad expectations and activity, is returning to similar pre-Covid levels. Subscriptions, conferences and publications were the key profitmaking activities.

Financials noted per the submitted paper.

The President extended the Board's thanks to the CEO and the Auditor for work to date.

The Annual Report and Financial Statements for 2022 were approved.

6. To authorise the Directors to re-appoint the retiring auditors subject to agreeing remuneration and terms.

The resolution was adopted.

7. To transact any other ordinary business that may be brought before the Meeting.

No additional business was raised.

The President extended his thanks to the Centre's staff for their work to date, as well as to the chairs of the committees for their work during the period in question.

The Deputy President extended his thanks to the President and the Board.

Dr Joanne Simpson Secretary