The ICEL and the School of Law in Queen’s University Belfast are delighted to announce an all-day conference to be held on 24 April 2020 on the Ireland-Northern Ireland Protocol to the Brexit Withdrawal Agreement. The conference will feature an impressive range of speakers who will address the most important issues arising in this complex and ever-changing area, including the governance arrangements by which the agreement will be implemented in both the UK and the EU; Fundamental Rights; Citizenship and Free Movement; Goods, Customs and the Single Market; and likely future developments.

Confirmed speakers and chairs include:

  • The Hon Mr Justice John Cooke, formerly of the High Court of Ireland and the Court of Justice of the European Union and Chairman of the ICEL
  • Dr Thomas Liefländer, Deputy Head of Unit, Task Force for Relations with the United Kingdom, European Commission
  • Professor Daniel Halberstam, University of Michigan
  • Professor Gordon Anthony, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Sir Declan Morgan, Lord Chief Justice of Northern Ireland
  • Ciaran Toland SC, Law Library
  • Professor Christopher McCrudden, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Professor Imelda Maher, University College Dublin
  • Professor Colin Harvey, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Margaret Gray SC, QC, Law Library, Bar of Northern Ireland and Brick Court Chambers London
  • Dr Katy Hayward, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Dr John Temple Lang, ICEL, Trinity College Dublin, Senior Visiting Research Fellow, Oxford University, and Solicitor
  • Professor Catherine Donnelly BL, Trinity College Dublin and Law Library

Ticket for this event are available here: